Home » Writing » Poetry » My Prayer in Crisis–A poem from a while ago…

My Prayer in Crisis–A poem from a while ago…

I’ve been writing stories since I was eight years old.  Let’s just say that was a long time ago.  I started writing poetry in high school.  Again, a long time ago.  Today as I was trying desperately to clean up my hard drive of excess duplicates, I stumbled upon my file of poetry that I typed up along the way.  I have found as I perused my poetry that I don’t write to one specific style.  I just write what comes to mind that fits my mood or feelings.

This was written in 2001 and seems pertinent to my feelings today.

My Prayer in Crisis

When it rains it pours!

Problems sweep my life,

Flooded with daily chores,

My job as a wife.

 

But more pressing are others

That affect my living.

Siblings, dads and mothers

My heart aches from giving.

 

I just keep trucking along

Through all this crisis.

Dealing with what’s wrong

Praying God can fix this.

 

I’m only one soul

Searching for the answer

Struggling to stay whole

Not feed this crisis cancer.

 

My dear Lord, I pray to you

In your arms hold us tight.

Keep us safe through and through

Guide us to your light.

 

So we may understand

The trials that we face

Take us by the hand

To your saving grace.

Leave a Reply

