Home » Writing » Reading, Writing, and Puppies

Reading, Writing, and Puppies

It’s been a busy couple of weeks.  Honey-do and I started painting a house for my landlord.  Unfortunately, she waited too long I think to bring us in on this job.  The average daily highs have been in the fifties.  Now our paint job looks like crap.  She knows that we work hard on any task she asks of us; I just wish she would have asked us last month.

This week has been tiring for me though.  I’ve been camped out with my female Great Dane, Athena.  Two months ago she went into heat, and we didn’t get her sequestered quick enough.  My male, Morpheus, tagged her.  She has been miserable.  She’s too old to be having puppies.  With our move, we hadn’t had time to get her to new vet yet to get her fixed.  I think choosing a vet is like choosing a doctor.  You should find the right one. In my camp out, I’ve been doing a lot of reading and working on one of my novels.  The ideas seem to be flowing for this one. 

Unfortunately, I have made more work for myself with this one.  I have been writing old school.  I grabbed a notebook and pen and been scribbling down the ideas like mad.  I’ll have to take extra time to type it out.  Lucky for me, I have Dragon software on my main computer, so I can dictate it.  Now I just need to be able to escape to my room rather than babysit Athena.

My reading adventures have been with the author Kim Harrison.  I am hooked on the Rachel Morgan series.  I like it because Rachel seems just as messed up with decision making as I am.  So far I’m through book 5.  I have to get with my library to check out books 6 and 7 from a larger library.  This is where small towns can feel so isolated.  If I were employed with a steady income, I would just buy the books.

I have to picky about the books I purchase.  Years ago honey-do moved all my boxes of books when we were just dating.  He and I had chosen to move in together.  He begged me to weed out my book collection; so the next time we moved, he wouldn’t break his back moving my boxes.  I complied.  I realized that many of my books were read once kind of books.  I changed my reading habits to check them out at the library (or borrow from friends) and only purchase them if I liked them enough to read additional times.  Honey-do has never really understood my love of books.  He definitely can’t understand how I could read books many times over or be reading up to four different books at one time.  The best way I could describe my love of written stories is compare it to his love of certain television shows or movies.  He can watch some television shows in reruns multiple time over.  I told him books are like that for me. 

Honey-do does like that our daughters have developed a love of reading like me.  He learned as an adult that he has reading disabilities.  He blames these disabilities on the lack of interest in reading.  I don’t mind that he doesn’t read like me, but I have one complaint about my girls reading.  They pick some books because they know a movie has been made based on that particular book.  I have a rule that if they want to read the book and see the movie; they must read the book first before watching the movie.  They fight me about this all the time.  The thirteen year made that mistake once with the Twilight series.  While at a friends house, she watched the movie before she was allowed to read the book.  She has since read the books, but has disappointments about both the books and the movies.  Now she is reading The HostBoth she and I would like to see the movie, but we are waiting until she finishes the book.  She would rather have disappointment in just one, not both.

Leave a Reply

