Home » Uncategorized » Getting Started

Getting Started

I have decided finally to try blogging as a means to overcoming writer’s block.  I have been writing stories and poems since I was 8 years old.  I’ve been fearful of sharing my work because it was stolen once when I was part of a “community” many years ago.  It pissed me off and I felt I could never share again.

I chose the title of Overwhelmed Crazy Mom because that describes me in three short words.  I am the sole provider for a family of 5.  I have a wonderful husband who hasn’t been able to work because of a back injury that occurred 9 years ago.  I have four daughters.  My oldest is already living on her own.  I work full time and I go to school online fulltime and I am a wife and mother full time.  I never thought I would have four full time jobs.  And to top it all off, I want to fulfill my dream of being a writer.

I was once published.  ~ if you could call it that ~  I submitted a poem to one of those websites that was having a contest.  I got literature from them saying they were publishing my poem in a book.  I could have the book at the low, low price of $39.99.  Ha Ha!  I shared my poem with my dad and he loved it.  He framed it on his desk.  I felt proud.

I cannot say that I’m any good, but I have the heart of a good writer.  I believe in my own stuff.  I practice good grammar and spelling when I write.  ~  though if you ever heard me speak; you’d never know it ~

So I covered the overwhelmed part and the mom part, how, do you ask, am I crazy?  Well for me that’s simple, I do not fit into any mold.  I do things my way even though it pisses off my husband.  I make strange decisions and choices.  For example, my husband and I have been together nearly 16 years.  We have lived in over twenty residences.  Each time a move occurred, I was firmly sure it was the right choice and our LAST move.  ~ I’m always proven wrong at some point. ~  I even left a job making good money because I was suffering from post-partum depression and didn’t know it at the time.  Oh, I was so pissed at myself when I came to my senses!  Now I’m trudging along trying to do right by the 3 girls I have at home and my husband who just can’t help but love me.

Leave a Reply

